Help with adafruit wave shield and multiple speakers

Post test messages here

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
campagnola13

Help with adafruit wave shield and multiple speakers

Post by campagnola13 »

Hi!

I'm new to Arduino and Adafruit and am working on a project in which I would like to control multiple speakers (4 total) from a separate computer (wireless if possible). Ideally, each speaker would be able to work simultaneously and independently from one another, both in sounds played and volume of sound. Is there a way to do this? Any help or guidance is greatly appreciated! Thank you

Nick

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Help with adafruit wave shield and multiple speakers

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The wave shield is only capable of playing one sound at a time. To have 4 separate sounds, you would need 4 wave-shields and 4 Arduinos. There are a few ways to address the wireless requirement. Exactly what kind of control do you need from the host computer?

Another option for playing sounds is the VS1053 Codec breakout: http://www.adafruit.com/products/1381

campagnola13

Post by campagnola13 »

Thank you for your response.

Does the VS1053 Codec have the ability to control multiple speakers separately? Or would you still need multiple Arduinos as stated below.

As for the computer, I would like to be able to control the sounds being played and the volume of the sounds to the speakers from the computer.

adafruit_support_bill

The VS1053 is stereo. It can play 2 different channels, but there is no simple way to have separate start/stop & volume control on them when playing back from compressed audio files.

What kinds of sounds will you be playing? Do they have to be recorded sounds? The VS1053 also supports MIDI.

campagnola13

Post by campagnola13 »