Learn C in 21 Days.

Forum Administrative - NOT PROJECT OR "HELP"

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
phil.drummond

Learn C in 21 Days.

Post by phil.drummond »

I read at this web page, http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/ that Ladyada learned C using (I bet as well as other resources) the "Learn C in 21 Days" book.
I tried to read that book and zombies ate my brain. Well, I felt like something had gone wrong... Is that book really capable of teaching C to a total novice, or am I a basket-case?
I'm not having any trouble with Ladyada's Arduino Tutorials, in fact, I'm loving them... the "clean cat wash the cat(dirty cat)" example was the reason I even started all this!
Let me know if I should try this book again, and please give any insights on how you managed to "digest" and learn the C language.

Thanks,

Phil

westfw

Re: Learn C in 21 Days.

Post by westfw »

Do you know any other programming languages?

I find that the big problem with a new language is figuring out a proper problem to apply it to. "Intro" books tend to present trivial examples and you set there going "sure. Buy WHY?" But problems that are complex enough to require getting into the language are frequently too complex to approach as a beginner.

You could do a lot worse that to stick with the Arduino example sketches; IMO they've done a particularly good job of picking an easy-to-understand subset of C that is a good starting point, while still allowing pretty complex (in some ways) things to be done.

niksun

Post by niksun »