Need Help Installing AVRDUDE (Mac OSX)

by Dread-Eye on Sun Oct 28, 2012 8:05 am

I've built the kit and bought the DB-9 adaptor. Now I need help installing the software on a Mac. The online instructions say:

"Just do a "./configure" then "make; make install" as usual"

I have no idea what this means. I downloaded 'avrdude-5.1' but don't know what to do with it. This is my first time doing anything like this. Thanks.
Dread-Eye
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:33 pm

Re: Need Help Installing AVRDUDE (Mac OSX)

by adafruit_support_rick on Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:11 pm

You've got a source-code distribution. You don't want that. The MiniPOV tutorial links to an executable version of avrdude:
Step 8b. Download patched avrdude if necessary

For some reason, FTDI-chip based adapters need some special help programming these chips. You'll need to use a modified verson of avrdude so download the package from here. Replace /usr/local/AVRMacPack/bin/avrdude and /usr/local/AVRMacPack/bin/avrdude.conf with the patched versions you just downloaded.
User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 8510
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Need Help Installing AVRDUDE (Mac OSX)

by ceratophyllum on Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:59 pm

The easiest way to install avrdude on Mac OS X is to use macports.

Once you have macports installed simply run this as root(sudo) and go have tea while it all compiles:
Code: Select all
port install avr-gcc avr-libc avrdude


and you're done. At least with the software install. I'm using a PL2303 serial adaptor and while it is crazy-slow, it gets the job done.

Btw, you'll have to make a few changes to the minipov .c files to get them to compile, regardless of whether you're on OS X or Linux. The error message is really weird and it took me forever to find out the stuff below. Luckily, it's just a few lines that need changing.

Code: Select all
SIGNAL( SIG_TIMER1_COMPA)
should change to:

Code: Select all
SIGNAL(TIMER1_COMPA_vect)


and
Code: Select all
PGM_P largeimage_p PROGMEM = large_image;
should now be:
Code: Select all
const largeimage_p PROGMEM = large_image;


I don't understand what the COMPA_vect stuff is...I'm only a beginner at AVRs. About all I can tell is it has something to do with timers.... :)
ceratophyllum
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:34 am