programming issues

MiniPOV4 and previous versions

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Fred113

programming issues

Post by Fred113 »

Hi,

Programming the spoke POV

Basically I've tried from two different programmes to connect with the SpokePOV without success and confirmed that everything is wired correctly.
1. All the LEDs light up in sequence with power on, batteries in.
2. The dongle transmits power to the LED from the port without batteries, so assume configured correctly
3. used avrdude_gui.exe to program the chip, and giveio installed on XP
4. error said the AVR could not be identified, same message when not connected to port
5. image writing from spokepov.exe
6. error message gave general error, could not read address 0

Is the alternative that the Ateml chip is faulty? I'm no expert, so I need to take advice on this. :?

Regards,

Simon

adafruit

Post by adafruit »

hmm. that is wierd. well, if the LEDs are lighting up in sequence, that means the microcontroller is OK. avrdude gui i havent tried...i only use the command line. do you have a scope? can you try it on another computer? i tested it on a few computers.

Fred113

Post by Fred113 »

Thanks for the reply. I did try on another machine, and error said .dll file was missing when I opened spokepove.exe.

Just to recap, i need to install giveio.bat, then program via avrdude_gui.exe the chip with the spokepov.hex file, then write the image using spokepov.exe. I could use the cmd line, but why would a gui make a diff?

Access to scope. How do I use one? What do I look for?

Regards,

Simon

adafruit

Post by adafruit »

you dont need to program anything with avrdude...you just want to use the spokepov.exe file. avrdude is only if you want to mess with the firmware, which seems unlikely. theres already firmware on there
what .dll is missing when you try the other computer?

Fred113

Post by Fred113 »