x0xb0x newbie: Problems with VCA BA6110 pin 4

Discuss x0x construction and related issues

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mex

x0xb0x newbie: Problems with VCA BA6110 pin 4

Post by mex »

Hello everyone,

I got a x0xb0x kit from a third party in germany, just finishing it up but of course going through some trouble first :)

I am an electric engineer, so I do understand the schematic and the circuits used pretty good, although, since I didnt grow up with the analog transistor stuff I really having a hard time understanding some of those circuits, there I could need some help.

My x0xb0x wasnt producing any sounds I thought a couple of days ago, no as I kept pressing my fingers on possible cold solderspots etc ( basic first try debug, I would call it :) ) I realized that I will get the wishes sound out of the headphones whenevr I pressed my thumb on the headphone out opamp and the VR4. I also have variable voltage sourced and an oscilloscope available for some more serious debugging later on :) but i am coming to that in a second.

Now that I knew my sound is working but is getting stopped somewhere later I did probe a lot on the PCB with the results that my VCA BA6110 pin 4 ( the control input current ) is not getting any signals ( no voltage and therefore no current i thought). Firts I did wanna buy a new BA6110, but I am not really sure if it really is broken or some other circuit in front of it. So I did simply attach some external voltage source to see if the VCA will work when i force it to do so. And indeed headphone output is noise free, everythign seems to be working like it is supposed to do. But my voltage attached draws about 10 mA, and in the BA6110 it says the control input max current should be 0,5 mA, so I guess my workaround works for some minutes but not forever.