A noobs homebuilt x0xb0x with no sound [SOLVED]

Discuss x0x construction and related issues

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Morglurg

A noobs homebuilt x0xb0x with no sound [SOLVED]

Post by Morglurg »

[UPDATE: Now works, thanks to a new atmega162 :D]

Hey everyone!

I'm an electronics novice that has built the xoxshop.de-kit, which seems very good. But i'm failing in the final stage (no sound):

The x0xb0x lights up. One can change programs and stuff. I'm testing in keyboard mode.

TESTING SO FAR
[*]VCO seems ok
[*]VCF seems ok
[*]GATE maybe, there's 12V at D35 as long as tangent is pushed, but 0.3V when it's not.
[*]BA6110 has values close to
1 / 5.3v /
2 / 5.3v /
3 / 0.0v /
4 / 0.0v /
5 / 0.0v /
6 / 5.3v /
7 / 5.3v /
8 / 5.3v /
9 / 12v /

LEADS (maybe)
[*]Faint clicks can be heard in the headphone output.
[*]The leds over the keyboard light up a bit (half a second maybe, very noticeable) after the button is pressed.
[*]In random play, the tempo encoder doesn't change the tempo

MISTAKES
Q3 was soldered in backwards, but now replaced. This did not change anything.
Probing with low quality headphones, sometimes I heard a loud "POP", possible shorting? This was after the problem though.

I'm really thankful for any tips and guidance, since I'm keen on getting my x0xb0x to work.
Last edited by Morglurg on Sat May 31, 2014 4:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

54656f

Re: A noobs homebuilt x0xb0x with no sound [support]

Post by 54656f »

Hi,

I have exactly the same situation.