Adding LED indicators to switched mods

Discuss mods, hacks, tweaks, etc.

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
stinki

Adding LED indicators to switched mods

Post by stinki »

OK my brain is a little fried from all the soldering and crafting I've been doing on the xox.

I'm now pretty much done, added all the mods I wanted, everything working nicely...I'd like to add a finishing touch of little LED's that illuminate when the switches/mods are activated, but I'm really a beginner when it comes to understanding circuits..I'm using DPDT pushbutton switches for all the switchable mods -- bass boost, res boost, env range x3, etc. So all the switches have an extra row of pins (except for the bass boost button, which uses both rows). I'm a little lost after that. Where would I get juice/ground from? I assume I just need proper voltage going to the free center pin, and to a side pine a 4.7k (or whatever) resistor connected to the LED anode and then connect a convenient ground to cathode...Any tips or examples for brain-fried novices?

altitude

Re: Adding LED indicators to switched mods

Post by altitude »

DPDT switch with a 5V rail,resistor, and LED in parallel with the on-off of the mod is the simplest

stinki

Post by stinki »

I'm still a beginner. I understand the basic concept at play in making the switch but technically I am still confused. Can you give me an example?

For instance here's the bass boost mod wiring that uses a DPDT switch to select an alternate set of caps for C20 and C21

switch pin1a - .1uF
switch pin1b - .1uF
switch pin2a - .01uF
switch pin2b - .01uF
switch pin3a - C21 (pin1)
switch pin3b - C20 (pin1)
.1uF - C21 (pin2)
.01uF - C21 (pin2)
.1uF - C20 (pin2)
.01uF - C20 (pin2)

Where would an LED fit into this? Could it, since both rows of pins are used on the switch?

altitude

Post by altitude »

For that, use a 3 position switch

stinki