is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Discuss mods, hacks, tweaks, etc.

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
3phase
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:06 pm

is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by 3phase »

or is it necessary to have the os modded to do so?

I had problems to translate my 303 lines into the xox.. some suggest that there might be a fault in my xox or teh os might be corrupted..or a user error?

would be nice if some could help to find out what is going on..i actually would be happy when i would be wrong because i soend quite some time building and optimizing my xox to be as close to my 303 as possible and really would leik tro be able to play my sequences again...


First question..

how do you people transcribe your xox lines in a text format?

is there something like a established standard?

xlarge
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:02 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by xlarge »

Please post a line the way you transcibe it wich shows where the x0xb0x according to you can't do as the tb-303 can and we'll have a go at it.

User avatar
decoder23
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:17 am

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by decoder23 »

maybe this will help you a bit, to find the difference in programming the tb303 to the x0x:

http://www.acidvoice.com/tb_303_famous_patterns_2.php

User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by antto »

oookay now..
the TB-303, the 303 clones, emulations and blahblah other similar types of pattern formats:

basically (as far as i know, and i DO know fairly enough) there are mainly 2 types of pattern types
1) the original TB-303's pattern format, which uses pitch mode and time info
2) 99% of the other 303-like sequencers use what we like to call "the clone-style pattern format" .. a pattern is just an array of 16 (or more) "steps" where each step has Note Gate Accent and Slide values

typically, a clone-style pattern would look like this:

Code: Select all

c-2 G A S
c-3 G - -
c#2 - - -
d-1 G A -
notice: step 3 doesn't have a "G" (gate) so it'll be a "rest" there, but even so, it has a note, which won't be used, but it's there
now, the slide on the first step would work the same way as it works on a 303, step1 will be extended and merged with step2, and the actual pitch slide will begin on step2, just like on a 303 (this is true for the x0xb0x, and all other clones)
this way of storing a pattern makes it possible for some odd things.. like.. you can put an accent and/or slide on a Rest.. tho, no one knows what's supposed to happen, as the 303 sequencer won't let you do this
in the x0xb0x stock firmware it's possible to put accent on a Rest.. but i wouldn't use that really

let's move on to the 303 format
me and darffader (and probably others too) use a text format for writing the 303 patterns in chats and forums easily, take the time to read it if you want now..
first let me just make some things clear in case you didn't know..
c-2 means "c on 2nd octave"
on a 303, the "default" octave is 2 (when you press c without any transpose)
the 303 doesn't store "notes" .. it stores a key (c c# d d# e f f# g g# a a# b C) and transpose (Up / Down)
notice, the upper C on the keyboard we use capital C letter, so watch carefully ;]
the biggest difference between the 303 format and the clone-style formats is that the "notes" are sepparated from the time info, let me try to summarise it:
1) Time Info is like an array of steps where each step is either Gate or Tie or Rest
Gate means "put a note on this step"
Tie means "extend the previous note one step more
Rest means "have a break, have a kitkat.." :mrgreen:
2) Pitch Mode is actually a list of "notes"
each "note" consists of Key + Transpose + Accent + Slide information

how do we write this? very similar to how it's written in the manual
we write the pitch info sepparately from the time info

Code: Select all

c c(US) d#(A) C(UA)
G - - G G o o G
now let me explain.. we write the pitches as Key(UDAS) where UDAS = Up/Down/Accent/Slide
and we write time mode as: GO- = Gate Tie Rest
how does this pattern work?
simple, the 303 reads the Time info first (per step)
on the first step there is G, so it takes a note (the first one) from the list and plays it
then, there are two Rests, it rests for the next two steps
then, there is a G, it plays the next note from the list (note2) which has a slide.. it'll be connected to the next step which also has a G (taking note3)
then there are two Ties, so note3 would be additionally extended 2 more steps
and finaly another G, it'll take note4 and the pattern is over
so this pattern is 8 steps long but only has 4 notes
how can we tell how much notes it'll take? simply just count the number of Gs in the time info, as each G takes a note from the list

how do we convert this pattern to clone-style format?

Code: Select all

c-2 G - -
f-1 - - -
f-1 - - -
c-3 G - S
d#2 G A S
d#2 G A S
d#2 G A -
c-4 G A
notice, since there is no "tie" here, we use the Slide instead and we put the same note over and over again to mimick it..
in other words, the "tie" in the 303 is somewhat an optimization, you can write patterns with long notes faster

well, that's all for a start, ask if you got questions ;]

3phase
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by 3phase »

ok.. thanks.. i wil do some comparisons checks between my 303 and my xox and post example lines..

User avatar
rv0
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by rv0 »

i guess it's possible but programming it can be hard in a lot of cases (due to the absense of 'tie')

more complex 303 lines are made with track mode, which is very limited in x0xb0x.

User avatar
human fly
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:21 am

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by human fly »

so, in theory, you could enter a note on step 1, followed by, say, 15 ties.
what would that give? a continuous drone? no: re-triggered at top of bar,
right? eg a single note 16steps long?

why can't ties be implemeted in the sokkan/nonx0x OS?

User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by antto »

human fly wrote:so, in theory, you could enter a note on step 1, followed by, say, 15 ties.
what would that give? a continuous drone? no: re-triggered at top of bar,
right? eg a single note 16steps long?

why can't ties be implemeted in the sokkan/nonx0x OS?
G O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O
f#(A)

would give you an accented F#2 note 1 bar long
who told you it's not implemented in n0nx0x?

the equivalent pattern for this on the clone-style sequencers is:

Code: Select all

f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A S
f#2 G A -

3phase
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: is it possible to play any 303 line with a xox?

Post by 3phase »

hi there.. did a few trys... first ..my xox has a technical prbelm i ve to fix first.. something is wrong with the enveloping.. this came especially vidible with the nonxox os which defently allready gets things much more 303ish..

so once i ve fixed the envelope its probaly possible to play any 303 line.. i will acheck when ive found the problem


thanks sofar for advice..

g
Sven

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “x0xm0dz”