Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by am4d on Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:53 am

how to change pattern when in edit mode, standalone?


I believe the only way is to stop the sequencer, select new pattern, then run the sequencer again.
am4d
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:17 pm

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by mario1089 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:58 pm

Ok, could repro easily now and also found the problem, was a line removed during the initial track-mode removal.

For now, a workaround is to not double-press DONE to save in that situation, but always show it the right pattern position by pressing the right note key. Without that, I think it saves always to 1st pattern now.

Guess Ill fix it soon, and release another version.
mario1089
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:11 am

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by mario1089 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:26 pm

Ok, fixed that (saving patterns with double-press-DONE in edit mode), see version 1.4.1, attached.

But there is one problem: 1.4.0 built today has 14 bytes less than when released. And I dont know why. It`s likely I found some bytes when starting on the other version, but I don`t know. So what that means is, we have to see if this version is ok, or if something got broken:( It would be somewhere at sync modes.. so pangrus, do you think you could have another look on this new version, see if it behaves the same regarding all sync modes?
Attachments
MarOS1.4.1.zip
(16.58 KiB) Downloaded 305 times
mario1089
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:11 am

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by pangrus on Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:48 pm

I'll test it and give an answer as soon as possible.
Anybody else has old din-sync drum machines or sequencers?
User avatar
pangrus
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:20 am

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by pangrus on Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:17 am

Here everything seems to work fine.
Other testers?
User avatar
pangrus
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:20 am

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by am4d on Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:22 am

Can't see any issues here either. All looks good.
Thanks a lot Mario
am4d
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:17 pm

Re: MarOS1.4 - "Official" Version 1.4

by mario1089 on Mon Dec 17, 2012 4:35 am

Cool! I`ll also try to have another look on it tonight, and make it official then. Damn, that was a really bad bug.
mario1089
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:11 am

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by mario1089 on Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:39 pm

All seems fine, I updated the first post. Thanx for testing. Hope we`re done now:)
mario1089
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:11 am

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by Paradigm X on Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:47 am

Thanks so much for all your hard work on this mario. Its incredible. :)

Im sorry ive not had a chance to test it yet, takes me longer to DL it and flash it than it does you to write !
Im off for nearly 2 weeks over xmas so will have to try.

The swing out of dinsync will be incredible for my 606.

Thank you

Ben
User avatar
Paradigm X
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by LZ303 on Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:43 pm

Hi Mario,

thanks for your OS Version... i really like it. I tried every "stage" of your OS (from 1.3 to 1.4) and had no problems in synching the box to my gear until the newest version 1.4.1

I am sure that it has something to do with the new "classic mode". Even if i reload your firmware with conbox (which should then be in "classic mode") the box won't start to play. DIN Sync works . My equipment is centered around the TR909 which sends out the midi clock to a KMS30 and so on...

I know that i have to press F#1 but maybe i miss something ...

Please tell me step by step how to get the box in classic mode...what means F#1? Press F# and the key "1" ? one after the other or at once or by turning the box on?

Sorry but i tried every combination but had no luck yet.

Thanks in advance
LZ303
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:02 pm

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by rarara on Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:32 am

think you need to send a F#1 note from a connected keyboard or sequencer.the x0x keys don't do the job iirc.
rarara
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:47 am

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by LZ303 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:08 am

Ok I see... thanx... guess i know now how this works...
LZ303
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:02 pm

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by mario1089 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:05 pm

@LZ303: problem solved?

Yes, F#1 is the name of a MIDI key, not a button on the hardware. I don`t exactly know when and why, but I also have seen the xoxbox mess up the stored state (not the patterns - which are on the EXTERNAL eeprom - but the the other states, which is on the INTERNAL eeprom). So when this ever happens to may run into the bad situation, that you have to have to reset the thing back to "classic" mode, although you have never put it there. Or, who knows, you have, without intenetion:)
mario1089
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:11 am

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by antto on Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:10 pm

EEPROM has a certain amount of "writes" before it starts to fail
so if you write to the eeprom very often for a long period of time, at some point you should expect to get wrong bits

i'm not saying that's the case, but it's good to be aware of it (specifically developers)

certainly the fact that the stock firmware saves the tempo immediately when it changes is a bad idea

also, don't abuse your eeprom with c0nb0x/c0ntr0l (that happens when you edit patterns from the app, or import patterns/whole memory)

the external eeprom can be replaced if it goes bad
but you can't replace the internal eeprom, you have to buy the whole microcontroller

still, i don't expect such things to happen soon, the x0xb0x is not so old, is it?
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)
User avatar
antto
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: MarOS1.4.1 - "Official" Version 1.4.1 - IMPORTANT bugfix

by LZ303 on Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:25 am

Yes, problem solved...:)

@antto:

In fact it takes several attempts until the OS is loaded 100% into the box... it often interrupts the upload...(at different %)

I spend a lot of time on the waiting list of ladyada until i had enough of waiting and bought all needed parts and built the box by myself. That was 2008 so my box is about 4 to 5 years old and i uploaded different OSs several times...

I am also waiting for the new CPU...hope that this will happen someday ? So Mario can implement all ideas he has in a new OS :)...

But I am very impressed what he achieved so far...best OS until now for me...
LZ303
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:02 pm