Finding parts/getting in over my head?

Posts about MIDIsense. open source MIDI sensor platform

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Oblivion

Finding parts/getting in over my head?

Post by Oblivion »

I'm jsut getting into electronics after a long time away. I heard about Mitch Altman's Brain Machine via 2600.com and recently bought and built a miniPOV kit (great kit and instructions! It worked on the first go and I'm basically a full newb).

Since I need the resistors and caps to make the brain machine anyway, I was thinking of buying in bulk online since i don't like supporting RadioSuck ($1 for 5 resistors, or $1 for 100?). The problem with that is I'd end up paying more in shipping than the parts are worth - even at RS.

So then I came up with the brilliant idea of ordering all of the components for a MIDIsense unit and just ordering the PCB from LadyAda - not that I want to avoid giving her the full $50 for a kit, but b/c I want to maximize my order from DigiKey or whoever.

Anyway, I've built a shopping list on DigiKey for the parts I need for the Brain Machine as well as the MIDIsense Basic and Resistive kits. But I've run across a few sourcing problem.

1) On the Base parts list, "IC1" is a 5V Power Regulator w/ DigiKey P/N LM78L05CT. However searching that number comes up blank. If I leave off the "CT," on the other hand, I'm presented with 12 different options and I don't know which I'd want. Any guidance?

2) Part "XTL1," an 8.00MHz Ceramic Oscillator w/ P/N Abracon AWCR-8.00MD is only available in lots of 1,000 :shock: What would a substitute DigiKey P/N be?

3) Both LMC6482 and LMC6484 come in many flavors, I'm guessing different form factors for various mounting styles - and perhaps other differences. Specifically which ones am I looking for?