MIDIsense can no longer find my ADio Board

Posts about MIDIsense. open source MIDI sensor platform

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Emma

MIDIsense can no longer find my ADio Board

Post by Emma »

Hi - I hope you can help:

(I'm a complete novice and have never built a kit anything before. A by-product of this is that my technical vocabulary is non-existent, so please bear with me.)

---

My query sounds a lot like the one in this topic:
http://forums.ladyada.net/viewtopic.php ... +green+red
I had a lot of problems with connecting up the ADio board yesterday (see below), but when I turned it on this morning, it behaved just as Bunex describes in this post.

I think too have accidentally broken the microcontroller, and before reordering wanted to:
(1) check that the replacement I need to order is this one:
http://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main_ ... ucts_id=87

(2) run past you the problems I was experiencing yesterday:

[NB. This is my set up: Mac PowerPC G4 Powerbook 1.33GhZ, OS X 10.4.11; MIDISense ADio Board; Sharp GP2D12 Distance Measuring Sensor; M-Audio MIDISport Uno; MIDIsense v1.0c; MIDIMonitor 1.1.8.; 9V Duracell battery]

I managed to assemble and solder the board okay, hook up the sensor, everything. I installed the MIDI Monitor software that you suggested, and I could see that loads of MIDI information was flowing out of the sensor kit via the USB MIDI Interface. But the Midi Sense software itself wasn't working:

When I selected "Connect to MIDI", MIDIsense was able to find the kit, but all the options (e.g. 'Settings', 'Calibration') were greyed out, none of the drop-down menus were accessible, and none of the channel sliders reacted to the sensors. (Meanwhile, MIDI Monitor was registering loads of data from all the Analogue Inputs on the ADio board, even though only 1 sensor was attached.)