Soldered Parts on Wrong Side

Ideas and questions about MintyBoost kits

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
loriwood01

Soldered Parts on Wrong Side

Post by loriwood01 »

I feel like a complete noob for asking this (I actually am, but I'm trying to learn). I am new to soldering, but took the time to learn how to do it from the videos on Adafruit. Got my MintyBoost, and pulled up the instructions on the website. I got the first orange resistor in place and soldered it in. I had been so worried about being able to solder it effectivly, that I did not realize that I fed the leads through on the wrong side and soldered them on the bottom instead of the top. I didn't have a desolderer, but when looking at the board, I saw that there were the metal rings around the holes on both sides, so I figured I may as well try and see if it would still achieve a connection - even though I was soldering things on the opposite side of the board. Everything is in the correct position (positive/negative, correct resistors, correct spots on the board, solders look great) except it's backwards because my solders are on the bottom. Of course I plugged my iPhone 4s in and the charger was not recognized. I soldered the two middle data lines on the USB connector since it was the iPhone, thinking that would fix it, but it did not.
So my question - is it because I soldered on the wrong side of the board that it is not working? Do the solders have to be on the top vs. the bottom? I assume so, because everything else looks perfect. I assume I will be buying another kit...beginners mistake.
I can post a picture of my board later this evening. I'm currently at work so I don't have it handy. I appreciate anyone's input!

adafruit_support_rick

Re: Soldered Parts on Wrong Side

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

It really depends on the part. Resistors can go in either side of the board. IC's cannot.