Alternative Batteries

Ideas and questions about MintyBoost kits

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
dimipana

Alternative Batteries

Post by dimipana »

Hey, hi there, I just purchased this kit with the intention to slightly modify it. But I am hesitant because I am not an engineer, just an DIY electronics amateur/enthusiast.

So can you please tell me -beforehand- if this idea will work, so that I do not do anything stupid and fry this wonderful design?

I want to replace the existing 2 AA batteries with a combination of some brand-new 3.7V Li-ion connected in parallel. Ideally, I would like to end up with a "power pack" that I can charge (without removing the Li-ions) so then I can use the power pack to power/charge my devices. I have a total of four(4) of these Li-ion batteries (about 1000 mAh each) which should approximately add up to a nice 4000 mAh (right or wrong?)

Questions:

1. Is it OK (i.e. safe) to combine these Li-ion batteries in parallel? In this case the mAh will also add up or not?

2. Is it possible to use the same USB port as input AND output? E.g. In this design is the USB port bi-directional so that it can be used for the "power pack" to charge but -also- to be charged? I believe no, so how do I go about using a second connector in order to "charge" the pack?

3. Again, I do not have formal electronics/engineering education, so, is this way out my league? Or, simply put, should I just forget about it and just use the MintyBoost as is?

Sorry if I said/asked anything that from an engineer's perspective is flat out ...stupid, it is not my intention to offend anyone. I am simply trying to use an existing design in a slightly different way to better fit my personal needs.

Anyway, glad to have found this wonderful site/forum, I look forward to your reply.

Thank you!

Dimi Pana

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Alternative Batteries

Post by adafruit_support_bill »