Upgrading MintyBoost to 12V - NEED HELP PLEASE

Ideas and questions about MintyBoost kits

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
MTRigsby

Upgrading MintyBoost to 12V - NEED HELP PLEASE

Post by MTRigsby »

Recently, I purchased an 8x AA battery holder, detachable via 9V snap connector. I soldered it to the MintyBoost (not realizing there was a 5V max, and luckily not damaging anything), and realized it didn't charge. I want to be able to solder this holder to the MintyBoost, but obviously need to upgrade it to a higher input. Can someone please tell me what components I need to upgrade, and with what they will be replaced? I'm new to both soldering and circuitry, so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Upgrading MintyBoost to 12V - NEED HELP PLEASE

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What you are asking for is a complete redesign of the MintyBoost. You will need to find a boost converter that works in right voltage range and select the components to build the support circuitry around it. The best I can do is point you to the "Process" page of the Minty tutorial where Ladyada details the whole engineering process. http://www.ladyada.net/make/mintyboost/process.html

But then, if you have an 8xAA battery pack full of alkaline cells, you already have a pretty solid 12V source. What do you need a boost converter for?

MTRigsby

Post by MTRigsby »

adafruit_support wrote:But then, if you have an 8xAA battery pack full of alkaline cells, you already have a pretty solid 12V source. What do you need a boost converter for?
I have the power source, but I currently have no way to convert the power to the 5V USB output... Would I need new resistors, capacitors, diodes, IC chip, and power inductor? As I said before, I'm new to all this, calling me a novice would be stretching it...

john_duh

Post by john_duh »

Wouldn't one of these do the trick ?