Bad LEDs?

SpokePOV kit for bikes

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Beez65

Bad LEDs?

Post by Beez65 »

I have assembled my 3x blue kit, and I have what appear to be several bad LEDs on two of the three boards.
First off, my soldering technique is pretty good as I've been doing it professionally and as a hobby for over 30 years. :D
Not that I've never made a mistake but I don't think that's it here. :oops: The leds in question are in "forwards" and had the long leg in the correct hole.

I put a DMM across one of the LEDS that does work and I get the same results as one that does not. About 2.9VDC when on. Any suggestions to debug? I'm thinking about pulling out one of the "bad" leds and replacing it with a known good one but I know there's always a chance to pull the plating out of the hole doing that. Suggestions of what to try first? :?:

As a suggestion for debugging, it might be helpful to have a "lamp test" mode, hold the button for shutdown and ALL-ON for one sec followed by ALL-OFF for one sec, repeat. Release the button and it shuts down.

ChrisB

Beez65

Re: Bad LEDs?

Post by Beez65 »

More Information:
I just completed the avrTinyISP and that works fine. I have downloaded and uploaded images in all four banks on all three spoke pov boards. Also, they do the bootup LED dance. It's hard to believe that out of 120 LEDs I got about 5% failures?
ChrisB

Agent24

Post by Agent24 »

If you don't want to try desoldering first you could probably try to tack a known working LED on the backside of the board on the pads of an LED that doesn't work, see what happens.

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you are reading 2.9v across the leads, tacking a known good one on the back as suggested would be an easy test.

Beez65

Post by Beez65 »

Well, as Alice would say, "curiouser and curiouser".