Adafruit #570 in Inc 5000 & #11 in manufacturing - fastest-growing private companies in America - INC 5000 - Read more!

[SOLVED] ATmega32u4 AVR109 bootloader on Mac OSX problems

by jirish on Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:05 pm

Hello,

I am new to avr programming, my experience with avr-gcc and avrdude is limited to compiling code and programming attiny13 uCs with the USBtinyISP. I decided to move up to the atmega32u4 to begin work with USB and take advantage of the convenience of a bootloader, however I cannot get the AVR 109 bootloader to work with avrdude.

Here is what happens:

When I plug in the breakout board, my mac recognizes the board as a "network interface". I read other threads concerning this message but found only references to using Teensyduino, which I'm hoping to avoid, as I'm learning to use the avr-gcc toolchain.

I have downloaded the latest version of the Mac CrossPack, however when running the test command in the tutorial

avrdude -p m32u4 -P COM3 -c avr109

I get an error message: avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "unknown": No such file or directory

Also, a second line appears after a few seconds: Eavrdude: butterfly_recv(): programmer is not responding

Is this bootloader also used on the AVR butterfly? Does this provide a clue as to where I have gone wrong?

I'm not sure what the source of this error is, or why the board is recognized as a network interface. The green LED breathes upon connecting the board, so the bootloader appears to be working.

avrdude version is 2-17-2012

Any help to get me up and running would be great thanks!

-Jon
Last edited by jirish on Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jirish

Re: ATmega32u4 AVR109 bootloader on Mac OSX problems

by adafruit_support_rick on Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:38 pm

It's normal for the Mac to show serial devices as network interfaces. It assumes they are modems.