16 channel servo driver

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
test-rc

16 channel servo driver

Post by test-rc »

Hi,

I want to use the servo driver with the arduino due. The due is running with 3,3V. I read in another forum, that on the yellow signal line of a servo, it is possible that the 5V of which the servo is running, can appear and destroy the due. Thats a reason why it's maybe not that save to run servos with extern powersupply directly on the arduino due.

Now i found the adafruit 16 channel servo driver. As it can work with 3,3V it seems to be perfect for the due, but since i'm new at programming microcontrolers, i'm not sure if i understood that really right.

So is the due really safe using this servo driver with 5 or 6V for the servos?

Thanks for the infos. B.R. Dieter

adafruit_support_bill

Re: 16 channel servo driver

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

on the yellow signal line of a servo, it is possible that the 5V of which the servo is running, can appear and destroy the due
This signal is an input to the servo. I would be surprised to see a servo output anything to it, but it may be possible with some servos.
So is the due really safe using this servo driver with 5 or 6V for the servos?
The servo power for the 16 channel servo controller is completely separate from the logic signals, so it is safe to use with any 3.3v processor.

test-rc

Post by test-rc »

Thanks! :D

jad

Post by jad »

HI,

I just got the 16 channel servo driver. It looks like an awesome board for the Raspberry Pi project that I'm working on. I believe that I'll be using all 16 channels. I'm fairly good at mechanical engineering aspects but when it comes to the electronic aspects, I still have much to learn.

In the description of the board under "Nice Extras" it makes note of this feature: