CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
vicatcu
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:35 pm

CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by vicatcu »

Hi folks! Running the library I am hitting this message in examples:

Firmware V. : 1.10
Wrong firmware version!

I guess the good thing is that means I'm talking to the device successfully, right? Can you offer any guidance on how to upgrade the firmware on the CC3000? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Vic

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88154
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Where did you purchase the board? Ours are all pre-installed & tested with latest version. If you purchased it elsewhere, you should be able to get the fight firmware from the TI website.

User avatar
vicatcu
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by vicatcu »

The library seems to be expecting version 13 though in the buildtest example sketch. See the line:

if (checkFirmwareVersion() != 0x113)

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88154
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

0x113 is the hexadecimal encoding of the firmware version.

User avatar
vicatcu
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by vicatcu »

Bill,

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't that suggest that the library currently expects cc3000 firmware version 1.19? The page below suggests that TI currently is at release version 1.11. Am I conflating version numbering systems? Or is Adafruit shipping modules with custom firmware running on the cc3000?

http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php ... _Downloads

Regards,
Vic

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88154
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you read the release notes, it is clear that you can't map the number that way: http://processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php ... ease_Notes
I believe the version reported is an internal build number - not an external release number.

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by adafruit »

hi there,

where did you purchase your board from? we do not see an order from adafruit.

thank you,
adafruit support

User avatar
vicatcu
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by vicatcu »

Hi Again Bill,

My colleague, Ken, ordered both a module (Ref Order #322782) and a shield (Ref Order #332762). Does that suffice?

Kind Regards,
Vic

User avatar
vicatcu
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by vicatcu »

Also, I'm asking a pretty generic question here. Not all of the examples in the library check for a particular firmware version. The buildtest example does though, and I was wondering why? I've seen people turned back to the forum from Git-Hub so I thought this would be the right place to ask the question.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88154
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

My colleague, Ken, ordered both a module (Ref Order #322782) and a shield (Ref Order #332762). Does that suffice?
We were asking about the module you are testing with. This is a very new and complex chip and the firmware is still evolving. We test each of our boards against the library. We cannot guarantee that it will work with other boards.

User avatar
fmbfla
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:48 pm

Re: CC3000 Wrong Firmware Version

Post by fmbfla »

Support Team.......
you might wanna comment out the if(checkFirmwareVersion()in the buildtest.ino file.

Code: Select all

  /* Adafruit diagnostics
  if (checkFirmwareVersion() != 0x113) {
    Serial.println(F("Wrong firmware version!"));
    while (1);
    //Adafruit diagnostics
  }*/
   
End users shouldnt need to know this for simple testing and use, and should only be uncommented to include it for diag only when contacting support.
This should keep the chatter down in the trenches for the ADA sup team. :wink:
I just got mine @ 11/22/2013-14:30 -5 GMT, and I wired it up and it gave me the same B.S..
I just commented out the "checkFirmwareVersion() section " and it werked fine.

With the check

Code: Select all

Hello, CC3000!

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1250 bytes

Initialising the CC3000 ...
Firmware V. : 1.24
Wrong firmware version!
Without

Code: Select all

Hello, CC3000!

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1250 bytes

Initialising the CC3000 ...
MAC Address : 0x08 0x00 0x28 0x57 0x94 0x17
Started AP/SSID scan
 Networks found: 1
================================================
SSID Name    : Michie Residence
RSSI         : 66
Security Mode: 3

================================================

Deleting old connection profiles

Attempting to connect to Michie Residence
Started AP/SSID scan
 

Connecting to Michie Residence...Waiting to connect...Connected!
Request DHCP

IP Addr: 192.168.1.108
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCPsrv: 192.168.1.1
DNSserv: 192.168.1.1
www.adafruit.com -> 207.58.139.247

Pinging 207.58.139.247...5 replies
Ping successful!


Closing the connection
I spent more time spellchecking this than it did to get it werking :D
I wanna go UP, I wanna go HIGH, and I wanna go FAST!

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Products from Adafruit”