Noob - lost in the why

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pgriffy

Noob - lost in the why

Post by pgriffy »

I've had my experimentation kit for a couple of weeks. I'm not having any issues getting the examples to work, and since my background is coding, i've even been able to make it do things differently. For example, I combined the LED circuit stuff I learned in examples 1 and 2 to add them to the motor spin in example 3 so the green led got brighter when motor sped up and the red led got dimmer when motor slowed down.

The part I don't get is why a certain type of resistor is chosen, or even why a resistor is used instead of a transistor. Is it just as simple as these tutorials cover the basic circuits that would ever be used and I just add that circuit when I need it (like I did when I added the lights to the motor exercise)? Or is there more basic info I need to know that the tutorials don't cover?

My ultimate goal (at least right now) is to build something that would monitor my hot tub and tweet when it needed more water, or chemicals, or the heater failed. I get that alot of this is possible, I just don't know where to start as far as knowing what sensors, resistors, etc I would need.

More than willing to learn on my own, I just don't have the right keywords for the Google, so my searches aren't helping at all.

I'd sincerely appreciate any tips on where to start with the more basic ideas of electronics so I can understand why the parts were chosen for a particular circuit. Then I would know what parts I need for the stuff I'm trying to do that doesn't have an example.

Thanks!

Franklin97355

Re: Noob - lost in the why

Post by Franklin97355 »