questions before buying--school project

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
RJ2120

questions before buying--school project

Post by RJ2120 »

Hey so i am doing an interactive mood lighting project for my design class and I would like my lighting fixture to react to motion and sound. It also needs to change colors. However i have little experience with this kind of electronics so i wanted to make sure i was buying the right board, senors, and lights to do what i want to do. I was thinking of having it flash and change colors to music and sound as well as maybe change colors or dim the closer you get to the light fixture. That way weather you are talking, playing music, or walking around the light is reacting. below is the list of what i was looking to buy

-12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels
-The Starter Pack for Arduino
-Electret Microphone Amplifier - MAX4466 with Adjustable Gain
-Maxbotix Ultrasonic Rangefinder (which rangefinder should i get? was thinking the LV-EZ0)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Last edited by RJ2120 on Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RJ2120

Re: questions before buying--school project

Post by RJ2120 »

or for the music and sound aspect would it be easier to us a led music controller? here is a link to one http://www.vozop.com/index.php/vozop-sm ... oller.html

maxbotix inc

Post by maxbotix inc »

Hello this is Tom Bonar from MaxBotix Inc.

I have seen that you are looking at integrating an ultrasonic sensor in your application regarding interactive mood lighting. How far do you want to detect people in your application? For easy integration, I would recommend testing the MB1210. For integrating with a 10-bit ADC, 1cm is equal to 1bit output by the sensor.