RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver(PCA9685)

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
gdahilig

RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver(PCA9685)

Post by gdahilig »

From reading the product description (https://www.adafruit.com/product/815), I can use this to drive LEDs. Would it also work with RGB LEDs? If so, how would I wire it? I'm still fairly new to Arduinos (just 6 months in) and have not worked at all with servos. (I'm still at the LED stage :D )

I'm thinking that I would have to use one channel for each rgb color (since each channel has only one PWM), but that means I would only be able to drive only 4 RGB LEDs per board. Am I misunderstanding or if this is the case, would there be a better solution to drive 10 RGB LEDs?

Also, if I chain more than one board to extend the i2c bus to handle more RGB LEDs do I just connect the pins (gnd/oe/scl/sda/vcc/v+) from one board to the other?

Thanks!

gdahilig

Re: RGB LEDs and Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver(PCA9685)

Post by gdahilig »

Also, if I chain more than one board to extend the i2c bus to handle more RGB LEDs do I just connect the pins (gnd/oe/scl/sda/vcc/v+) from one board to the other?
I should add:
if I chain more than one board to extend the i2c bus to handle more RGB LEDs, besides soldering in the address pins do I just connect the pins (gnd/oe/scl/sda/vcc/v+) from one board to the other?
thanks again,
gene

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »