Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jsph.gomez89

Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab

Post by jsph.gomez89 »

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Arduino and MATLab, so I apologize in advance if the answer seem trivial.
I am currently doing a project that is to build a PID controller which is to use a Thermocouple as a feedback to the controler (Arduino) to control temperature of the system.

I picked up the MAX31855 breakout board and the Type-K Thermocouple and was successful in having it work with my Arduino with the MAX31855 giving readings within 1 degree C on the serial monitor of the Arduino. My big issue right now is now having to use MATLAB to plot this data in a live data plot. But under further research, I need to create an library within MATLab to us the scrips given within the tutorial of the thermocouple. Because it is a Digital output i am not sure where to even start with this kind of work. Like I said I am fairly new to the world of Arduino, MATLab,and coding.

Thank you in advance!!

Bedmonds91

Re: Adafruit MAX31855 With MATLab

Post by Bedmonds91 »

I would really like to know if this problem has been solved. Matlab's support package for Arduino has a specific way to communicate with SPI devices where you have to write in order to read. The MAX31855 thermocouple amplifier is read-only so it matlab won't let me read values.

Bedmonds91

Post by Bedmonds91 »

So I know this is a reply to a fairly old post, but after searching the entire web I didn't find an answer to this problem, which was how to read the Max31855 from a matlab script. I provided the Matlab code I used in order to plot the temperature in real time.

%Thermocouple Data
a=arduino('COM10','Due','Libraries','SPI');