CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

The CC3000 SmartConfig isn't responding any more. It used to work, after testing the 2(two) breakout boards. Everything else still works fine, but after running a bunch of other sketches, which just connect to the network and broadcast UDP-Messages it just stopped working. Can't get SmartConfig running on both breakout boards anymore. It just times out. Tried the Android-App and the Java-Applet.

Please Help... :(

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 67446
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

What kind of hardware are you using along with the CC3000?

Post a photo of your setup and we'll see if that offers any clues.

User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

Hardware is an Uno and some Jumperwire. Photo will follow.

User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

Wiring... doublechecked connections, changed jumper wires, changed arduino.

SerialOutput of SmartConfig Sketch:

Code: Select all

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 550

Initialising the CC3000 ...
Firmware V. : 1.19
MAC Address : 0x08 0x00 0x28 0x57 0x36 0x0D

Deleting old connection profiles
Waiting for SmartConfig connection (~60s) ...
Got smart config data
Timed out waiting to connect
SmartConfig failed
Attachments
IMG_2510_0.jpg
IMG_2510_0.jpg (431.59 KiB) Viewed 2114 times
Wiring1
Wiring1
IMG_2509_0.jpg (891.16 KiB) Viewed 2114 times

User avatar
georgehawkins
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:12 pm

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by georgehawkins »

Exactly the same thing happened to me - it fails at exactly the same point:

Code: Select all

Got smart config data
Timed out waiting to connect
I.e. it clearly appears to receive the Smart Config data but then fails to be able to use it to connect.

The module still works fine and successfully connects to the network if I don't use Smart Config and instead hard code the SSID and password in my sketch.

I wasn't actually changing things about with my Arduino/CC3000 setup when things first went wrong - it just stopped working one day.

As I'm using the breakout board connected up via a breadboard, rather than the shield version, I assumed one of my wires had come loose (though this seemed less likely later when I could prove to myself that everything worked if I used the non-Smart Config approach).

I checked all my wiring and actually pulled everything out and rewired it - however as pointed out the fact that it works with the hardcoded SSID and password approach makes me think it's not a wiring problem. And the fact that it seems to be able to receive the Smart Config data suggests there isn't an issue with being able to monitor wifi channels.

So why making a connection with the received data should timeout I don't know.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

SmartConfig is still kind of experimental at this point.

User avatar
eliavg9
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:34 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by eliavg9 »

I'm having the same issue (I'm using the shield with an Uno).
Did you manage to solve it?

Thanks!

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I don't have any new information on this issue. Make sure your CC3000 library and your smart config app are both up-to-date

User avatar
eliavg9
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:34 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by eliavg9 »

Maybe I have a mistake in code?

Can you look at this, tell me if I'm doing anything wrong:

Code: Select all

if (!cc3000.begin(false,true))
  {
    // No profile found!
    cc3000.deleteProfiles();
    // Deleted profiles to make sure there's no garbage
    if (!cc3000.startSmartConfig(false))
    {
      cc3000.begin();
      if (!cc3000.connectToAP(WLAN_SSID, WLAN_PASS, WLAN_SECURITY))
      {
        while(1); //Error
      }
    }
  }

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

That is wrong. Do not call connectToAP when using smart config.

You are calling begin twice.

Your first call to begin tells the cc3000 to use stored smart config data. After that, you call deleteProfiles, which deletes any stored information before it can be used by startSmartConfig.

Try this:

Code: Select all

  /* Initialise the module, deleting any existing profile data (which */
  /* is the default behaviour)  */
  Serial.println(F("\nInitialising the CC3000 ..."));
  if (!cc3000.begin(false))
  {
    Serial.println(F("Unable to initialise the CC3000! Check your wiring?"));
    while(1);
  }

  /* Try to use the smart config app (no AES encryption), saving */
  /* the connection details if we succeed */
  Serial.println(F("Waiting for a SmartConfig connection (~60s) ..."));
  if (!cc3000.startSmartConfig(false))
  {
    Serial.println(F("SmartConfig failed"));
    while(1);
  }
  
  Serial.println(F("Saved connection details and connected to AP!"));

User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

And another b[y]tes the dust.... :(

This time it's a shield on a mega... only one left on my bench.

Has been working since 2 Weeks with a hundreds of tries. I ported the SmartConfig paket sending to Windows Library for use in Delphi, so i testet SmartConfig a lot and just now it stops its work and never comes back. As befor on the breakout board, everthing else is running fine.

Code: Select all

Hello, CC3000!

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 6202

Initialising the CC3000 ...
Firmware V. : 1.19
MAC Address : 0x08 0x00 0x28 0x57 0x33 0x86
Waiting for a SmartConfig connection (~60s) ...
Got smart config data
Timed out waiting to connect
SmartConfig failed

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Try running one of the other sample sketches, like buildtest, which should clear out all the saved connection data.

User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

Already tried... Library is up to date. Buildtest works... as everything else but the smart config.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Are you running the smartConfigCreate or the smartConfigReconnect example?

User avatar
cs gaertner
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:19 am

Re: CC3000 SmartConfig stops working

Post by cs gaertner »

Current sketch is smartConfigCreate.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”