CC3000: text finder equivalent?

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
reevesl

CC3000: text finder equivalent?

Post by reevesl »

Hi folks,

Before I add a bunch of code to my sketch (likely by pulling it out of the text finder library) I wanted to see if anyone else had already come across or created a solution.

The library is looking for an Ethernet client stream or a serial stream so the build fails with the cc3000 stream type. Granted, I'm a terrible programmer, so the chances that I did it wrong are pretty good.

The code isn't complicated so I can just re-implement the logic... just trying to save time. :D

Thanks,
Reeves

adafruit_support_mike

Re: CC3000: text finder equivalent?

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

If you have the text in a C-style string, you can use the `strstr()` function to find a substring, and the `sscanf()` function to extract formatted data. Both functions are part of the standard C library, in <stdio.h>.

reevesl

Post by reevesl »

Thanks Mike, that's a good suggestion but not exactly what I'm needing.

The value of the text finder library is that it scans the stream as it passes, discarding the response as the target string isn't found. This is much more efficient for Arduino's limited memory as you don't need to hold potentially large chunks of text to parse.

I've moved the text finder functions into my sketch and am working on debugging it right now. I'm encountering issues with dropped data... but that's something for another thread once I get a handle on what's happening. :)

Cheers,
Reeves

adafruit_support_mike

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Yeah, I was afraid of that.. there are scanner-based versions of the code in C, but they're written for files, not Arduino Streams.