Will a Trinket sub well for my Uno?

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
annie mouse

Will a Trinket sub well for my Uno?

Post by annie mouse »

I am using an Arduino Uno in a project and would like to scale down size and costs. I am a newbie, but see that I am only using a total of 5 pins; #2 for a PIR sensor (which returns data), #3 for data from several LED strips(which use PWM), #4 for clock from same strips and Vin+Grnd pins for power. Can I scale down from an Uno to a Trinket without altering my existing and well functioning program much?
Thanks

michaelmeissner

Re: Will a Trinket sub well for my Uno?

Post by michaelmeissner »

In theory you should be able to use a Trinket. You might also be able to use a Gemma (same cost, but different layout and fewer pins). The ground/vin pins don't count towards the total. On the Trinket you would use pin PB2 for the PIR circuit (which provides analog input), PB0/PB1 both have PWM so you could use either for the LEDs, and the other for the clock (given the internal LED is on PB1, that might be an easy choice to use for the LED strip). You can also use PB4 for another PWM pin and PB3 for another analog pin, but those are used by the USB controller, and you would need to remove the stuff from those pins when programming the chip.

Note, that the Trinket does not have builtin serial support, so you wouldn't be able to do Serial.print for debugging. There are ways to do SoftwareSerial or such for debugging, but I tend to do the Serial debugging on the Uno or Teensy 3.0 processors, and then just use LED debugging on the Trinket/Gemma.

annie mouse

Post by annie mouse »

Helpful info-thanks much Michael!

annie mouse

Post by annie mouse »