CC3000 buildtest wierdness

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I loaded my configured buildtest onto my Micro after wiring it up to my CC3000 for the first time. Not a peep on the monitor. I pulled the CC3000 off and tried again, nothing. I tried a "Hello world" sketch at the same baud rate and the comm is OK. I next put a return in buildtest's setup() right after the 1st println, and still nothing. I'm stumped. Standalone Micro stuck in a breadboard, monitor set to 115200. I'm stumped.

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23910
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Franklin97355 »

Something very wrong. buildtest prints to the serial monitor before it does any setup besides the cc3000. try commenting out the Adafruit_cc3000 line among the #defines and see if it runs further. If not pictures come next.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I'm not sure which line you mean, but the only #defines are pin numbers for the CC3000 interface, and if any are commented out it's not going to compile. Same with the CC3000 constructor. As for pictures, it would just be a Micro stuck into a prototyping board with no other components and a USB cable connected to my laptop. Not much that can go wrong with that.

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23910
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Franklin97355 »

Then the only thing it could be is your code is bad or your library corrupt. The micro works, the coms work, other programs work, I don't know what else it could be.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I've been away from the project for a bit. I added a 5 second delay before the first println() and I now see output up to the "Initializing CC3000", but it hangs at that point. It seems if the sketch writes to the serial port but the monitor's not up one of the ports gets in a funky state. Haven't investigated why it hangs where it does though.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I still haven't gotten past this:

Code: Select all

Hello, CC3000!

RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1797

Initialising the CC3000 ...
The config is a bare Micro running the example buildtest except for a 5 second delay before the first println(). I at least expect to see the initialization error message, but it doesn't seem to be getting that far, like it never returns from cc3000.begin() Any ideas what I might try next?

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

CC3000 buildtest problem ...

Post by Barry914 »

... just won't go away. I'm looking for a response in this thread viewtopic.php?f=22&t=57592

User avatar
tdicola
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by tdicola »

You mentioned you're powering the Arduino micro from a USB port on a laptop right? Powering CC3000 projects from computer USB ports can be problematic because the wifi chip's current demands can sometimes spike above what a typical computer USB port can provide. Can you try powering the Arduino from an external power source? This page has some notes external power if you scroll down to the power section--the basic idea is to hook up a 7-12 volt supply to the VI and ground pins. You'll want to use a power adapter that provides about an amp or more of current.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I don't think that's the problem since I have nothing connected to the Micro. I removed it when I first suspected it was hanging on the .begin() call. My assumption is that with the CC3000 not present, the initialization should fail and I'd get an error message on the console. It behaves the same if the CC3000 is connected though.

Code: Select all

 
 /* Initialise the module */
  Serial.println(F("\nInitialising the CC3000 ..."));
  if (!cc3000.begin())                   <------------------------ never returns
  {
    Serial.println(F("Unable to initialise the CC3000! Check your wiring?"));
    while(1);
  }

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23910
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Franklin97355 »

What happens if you run the original buildtest program? If that doesn't work try removing and re-downloading the library, something may have gotten corrupt.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I've replaced the library twice, no help. I have been using the original buildtest(), it does not work. It just hangs after the "initializing ..." message. At the very least I expect to see an initialization error. For lack of a better idea, I'm thinking maybe it's Micro specific.

User avatar
tdicola
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by tdicola »

Ah, if there's no CC3000 connected to the Arduino I suspect it will get stuck in initialization like you see. The driver code for the CC3000 expects to see the device respond to an interrupt line being pulled high and low and will probably wait indefinitely for the CC3000 to respond. The host driver code from TI that most of the CC3000 library is based on unfortunately isn't very good about putting timeouts in loops, so it can get stuck when things don't respond as expected.

Try connecting the CC3000 again but powering the Arduino from an external supply--the behavior you see of the device not responding to initialization sounds a lot like these similar power related issues that were fixed by using an external supply:
- Stuck in initialization
- Stuck after firmware upgrade

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

I couldn't find a specific reference to the CC3000's Vin pin, but I assume it's the usual 7 - 12V.

User avatar
tdicola
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by tdicola »

Stick with using the 5 volt output from the Arduino if you can since it's closer to the 3.3 volts the CC3000 wants and there's less voltage to dissipate. It looks like the regulator on the CC3000 is an LT1117 that can work up to about 15V though.

User avatar
Barry914
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 1:26 pm

Re: CC3000 buildtest wierdness

Post by Barry914 »

All is good, thank you very much.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”