IR emitter circuit design

Get help and show off your TV-B-Gone kit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
cyborg5

IR emitter circuit design

Post by cyborg5 »

I'm not sure if this question belongs here or in your "Ask an Engineer" section but since it is somewhat related to this device I'm going to post it here.

I've built two or three Arduino-based gadgets that emit IR remote control signals but I've never really been confident that my driver circuit was giving me optimal results. I know nothing about circuit design except a rudimentary understanding of Ohm's law with almost no experience knowing how to apply the damn thing :-)

What I'm saying is I'm a total noob. My background is programming not electronics.

I've tried googling websites for transistor circuit design, LED driver circuit design, and a variety of other things and they are all over my head even though they seem to be pretty simple. One website directs me to the design page of the TV B-Gone gadget here
http://www.ladyada.net/make/tvbgone/design.html

I think I burned up the transistor the first time I tried that single transistor driver circuit. Even an idiot like me should have realized the TV b-gone runs off of 3 V and I'm using 5 V. Then again I could've hooked it up wrong on the breadboard. This schematic for the single transistor version says use a 120 ohm resistor. I picked a bigger value (400 or 500 or so I forget). The gadget works but the range and directional angle seems to be limited.