Please point me in the right direction

For Adafruit customers who seek help with microcontrollers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Billy10mm

Please point me in the right direction

Post by Billy10mm »

Okay, so here goes.

I'm a total noob to electronics. I just completed my first project, a 9v battery powered phone charger in an Altoids tin. (Yes, I saw Minty Boost, but figured that was cheating instead of learning). Anyway, I have plans for version 2 of said charger and have been stuck on a single feature - low battery power-off.

Essentially, I want to be able to read the voltage in the circuit and when it drops below a certain threshold, open the circuit. As a software developer by profession, my first thoughts were to a microcontroller-based piece of hardware like an Arduino but then figured that maybe I don't need the entire Arduino, maybe I can get by with just a small 4-pin microcontroller? Someone else suggested to me a MOSFET, but I'm unclear exactly what their use is and how I find the exact one that fits my needs.

I don't know, I'm really new and really lost, and I hope someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks

--Billy

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Please point me in the right direction

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

There are a lot of ways to approach it. I'd recommend reading through the "Process" page in the MintyBoost tutorial first. Even if you don't plan to build the Minty yourself, there is a lot of great insight into Ladyada's engineering process, starting with her evaluation of alternative approaches to the problem.

adafruit_support_mike

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

What you want is a device called a 'voltage detector' or 'voltage monitor'. Here's a datasheet for an example:

http://www.onsemi.com/pub_link/Collateral/NCP300-D.PDF