making custom teensy 3 pcb

For Adafruit customers who seek help with microcontrollers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pts

making custom teensy 3 pcb

Post by pts »

hi there,

long story short im looking how to make my own pcb using the arm cortex m4 chip that the teensy 3(.1) uses.

im fairly new to this pipeline, so i have some noob questions,

1. do i need to burn a bootloader onto the chip? if so how do i go about this? i read something about teensy running halfkey. if i was to just buy the cotex chip itself, how would i get this bootloader on it?

2. if its not quite realistic to get the bootloader on the chip, would it be plausible to desolder the chip from a teensy development board, and then resolder the chip to my own pcb?

3. what are the dangers of this concerning power? at times i will be plugged in to a USB and other times running off a 3.7v (4v max) battery. what concerns should i have and what resistors would i need?

thanks for any input. :)

Franklin97355

Re: making custom teensy 3 pcb

Post by Franklin97355 »

You should ask over here http://www.pjrc.com/ They make the Teensy.

paulstoffregen

Post by paulstoffregen »

pts wrote: 1. do i need to burn a bootloader onto the chip? if so how do i go about this? i read something about teensy running halfkey. if i was to just buy the cotex chip itself, how would i get this bootloader on it?
You buy this chip which has the bootloader.

http://www.pjrc.com/store/ic_mini54_tqfp.html

You can use a blank MK20 chip with this.

pts

Post by pts »

that link is exactly what im looking for! thank you for the enlightening!

can you inform me why/how i need the blank mk20?

pts

Post by pts »