Long LED fade

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
james13

Long LED fade

Post by james13 »

Hi...

I am new to the arduino and have been trying to pick up on the programming language and also modify code that is already written to make it conform to what i am looking to do.

What i am needing to do is turn the LED on at its dimmest for 5 hours then fade over the period of 3 hours, turn off for approx 6 hours and then a reverse fade over approx the same 3 hours then hold dim for an additional 5 hours then off for 2 hours.

Or something similar simulating moonlight to sunrise and then sunset back to moonlight.

any pointers or someone that has a similar program that i could tweak to fit what i am looking for would be great!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Long LED fade

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I have some code that does more-or-less the reverse of that for controlling aquarium lights. With minor tweaks it could do what you want. You would need a real-time clock module such as the ChronoDot or the DS1307.

james13

Post by james13 »

thats exactly what i would be doing with it....

and im guessing i could include an LCD read out (http://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main_ ... cts_id=181) to monitor time and date?

StacyD

Post by StacyD »

Yep, a LCD would work fine! The character LCDs (16x2, 20x4, etc.) are the easiest to work with and since you really only need 6 pins for it that would give you plenty of space to expand on in the future (which you will!).