Arduino Uno power light is on but can't upload sketches

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Codingflux

Arduino Uno power light is on but can't upload sketches

Post by Codingflux »

I ordered the Arduino experiment kit, I managed to use just 3 of the projects and when I uploaded a third sketch the arduino stopped responding and connecting...now all I have is the led that stays in the on and no other LEDs. I'm new to this so I'm not sure what else to do. Here is the error message that I get from the IDE

avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

I'm running this under Max OSX lion.

Do I need to return this Arduino back?

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Arduino Uno power light is on but can't upload sketches

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I uploaded a third sketch the arduino stopped responding and connecting
Is there still a virtual COM port when the device is plugged in?

Hold the shift key down while attempting an upload and post the output.

Codingflux

Post by Codingflux »

Here is the output:

Binary sketch size: 1018 bytes (of a 32256 byte maximum)
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -cstk500v1 -P/dev/tty.usbmodemfd131 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:/var/folders/qd/x4jq8l4503b8qrltqd5wq7fm0000gn/T/build4655973661523929157.tmp/Blink.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 9 2007 at 11:20:31
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Resources/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
User configuration file is "/Users/sanchezjav/.avrduderc"
User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

Using Port : /dev/tty.usbmodemfd131