Mechanical Relay

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mjordan

Mechanical Relay

Post by mjordan »

n00b question!

I'm working on a project that, among other things, will trigger the shutter release on my DSLR via the remote shutter. The DSLR's remote shutter provides its own 3.3V, so I need a mechanical relay to do this, and I think this one will work with my Arduino Uno?

http://search.digikey.com/us/en/product ... ND/1164329

The coil voltage is listed as 5VDC, which I assume means I can power it with the 5V from the Arduino? I'm quite new to electronics, and while I want to experiment, I also don't want to fry my Arduino. So I wanted to check here first. :)

Rukbat

Re: Mechanical Relay

Post by Rukbat »

If you can find out what the current sink the camera needs, you can do it much better - with a transistor. A 2N2222 (or just about any small NPN transistor) will probably work, considering that the current demand is almost 0 (as far as any transistor is concerned). The Arduino can drive just about any transistor. The differences are:

Relay - slow (milliseconds). Transistor - fast (nanoseconds to a microsecond or two).
Relay - expensive. Transistor - cheap.
Relay - large. Transistor - small.
Relay - needs a diode to protect the Arduino. Transistor - doesn't.

And since the relay needs 72ma of current, you'll have to use a transistor to drive it anyway (the same one you could use to drive the camera without a relay).

abqlewis

Post by abqlewis »