Sketch format convention: why?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Balloondoggle

Sketch format convention: why?

Post by Balloondoggle »

I'm just beginning to learn how to code this stuff, and I have noticed something that seems odd to me. There must be a reason for it though, so I'm asking for some clarity.

If the Setup section of a sketch is where you establish pinMode and such, why are variables set up ahead of this section? It seems to me that the logical way would be to put in all your explanatory or descriptive comments in the header, then define the variables within the Setup () section where you define the other functions of the sketch.

Example:

int ledPin = 10;

void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
}

Can't the "int ledPin = 10" go in void setup()? Why would anything go ahead of setup()? For that matter, why even assign pin 10 as "ledPin"? pinmode(10, OUTPUT) should work just as well I think.

jasonwebb

Re: Sketch format convention: why?

Post by jasonwebb »

This is done because of a little thing called scope. In other words, every time you do something between a set of brackets (like { and }), the data that is created is not accessible to things outside those brackets.

Let's expand your example to see why it wouldn't be a good idea to put everything inside of setup.

Code: Select all

void setup() {
  int ledPin = 10;

pinMode( ledPin, OUTPUT );
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite( ledPin, HIGH ); 
}
Copy that into Arduino and hit compile, you'll see an error about what I mentioned. Now try to move the "int ledPin = 10;" line outside of the setup method and compile again. Now that the variable ledPin exists outside of both the setup and loop methods, it can be accessed by them both later.

Hope this help :)

Balloondoggle

Post by Balloondoggle »

That does help, thanks.