#include problem

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Handydude

#include problem

Post by Handydude »

I am new to Arduino. I am having a problem verifying sketches. The problem seems to be with the libraries. For example,

I have placed RTClib.h and RTC.cpp into an RTClib folder and placed that into the libraries folder. When I use a #include RTClib.h in my sketch, it is not highlighted like the <wire.h> include is highlighted.

When I try to verify, the software tells me that it can't find RTClib.h. Why can't it find it? It shows up in the Import Library pull down menu and it is entered into my sketch. But that's it!

The same holds for my DS1307RTC library and the Time library. I am using Arduino 1.0 on my Mac and Arduino 23 on my PC.

The library folder on the Mac is in the same folder as the Arduino app.

It seems to be true for any library I enter.

Help!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: #include problem

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Did you exit and restart the IDE (all instances of the IDE) after installing the libraries? The IDE doesn't recognize libraries that were installed after it starts up.

Handydude

Post by Handydude »

Yes, many times over many days. It's holding up my project. For example, if I do the Datalogger sketch located under SD in the Examples menu. It works.

Handydude

Post by Handydude »

BTW, I have been programming PICs for many years using my CCS C compiler and the CCS Mach X programmer. I'm trying Arduino as I like the shield concept. I'm getting tired of building circuit boards from scratch. This is supposed to be easier, yet I am stumped.

adafruit_support_bill

I have placed RTClib.h and RTC.cpp into an RTClib folder and placed that into the libraries folder.