Game on Arduino using 2.8" TFT Shield

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Rikonator

Game on Arduino using 2.8" TFT Shield

Post by Rikonator »

I want to make a side-scrolling game, kind of like a Super Mario Bros clone, to work on the Arduino using the 2.8" TFT Shield(http://www.adafruit.com/products/376). This is my first Arduino project, and I know that it is pretty complicated given that it is my first project. My cousin donated his 2.8" TFT Shield so I wanted to use it.

I'm using an Arduino Duemilanove with the Atmega328. Basically, I'm reading bitmaps from the SD card and rendering them onto the screen accordingly.

A few weeks into the project, I realized that the time required to render a bitmap onto the screen was too large. This contributes to the game running at 1 frame per 3-5 seconds. So now I'm trying to optimize how I write data to the screen. But I can't figure out how to.

The writeData() function in the TFTLCD library already uses direct port access. I do not know if trying to convert that code to avr-assembly will help or not. Also, I lack the knowledge on what are the proper pin accesses each write uses to write the data.

Can anyone help me optimize the rendering? Any documentation I can read to understand how to get a better FPS? Or is it already optimized, and I can't do anything about it?

adafruit_support_rick

Re: Game on Arduino using 2.8" TFT Shield

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Are you reading your bitmaps from the SD card in real time? That is, are you trying to read a frame, then render it on-screen, then read the next frame, etc? If so, a rate of 0.3 fps is probably about as good as you can do.

You might want to have a look at the Gameduino shield that adafruit sells:
http://www.adafruit.com/products/384