Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
uberhund
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:06 pm

Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post by uberhund »

Though it communicates with the IDE serial terminal emulator perfectly, my Arduino Ethernet card refuses to be programmed across my FTDI cable, even when using IDE v1.0. Instead, I receive the familiar error shown below

Code: Select all

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
The FTDI cable I'm using uploads sketches fine with other FTDI Arduino types (Menta, e.g.). However, the Arduino Ethernet card has never successfully accepted a sketch regardless which Windows7 IDE v1.0 system I try.

Is it time to trade in this Arduino Ethernet card for a replacement?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88090
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Check your board type selection. The Arduino Ethernet is a type unto its own.
Post the verbose output from an upload attempt (File->Preferences "Show Verbose Output" for upload.)

User avatar
uberhund
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post by uberhund »

Thanks for the suggestion. Here's the verbose output:

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\arduino-1.0\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\Program Files\arduino-1.0\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -carduino -P\\.\COM5 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:C:\Users\USER~1\AppData\Local\Temp\build5329631061518295930.tmp\Blink.cpp.hex:i 

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files\arduino-1.0\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM5
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Recv: . [00] 
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

avrdude done.  Thank you.
Board selection was correct (Arduino Ethernet).

Thanks again for your thoughts,

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88090
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Though it communicates with the IDE serial terminal emulator perfectly, my Arduino Ethernet card refuses to be programmed across my FTDI cable,
The board does serial communication via the same FTDI cable? Does the board show signs of resetting when you start a download? You might try pressing the reset button at about the time the upload starts (may take a few tries to hit the timing right).

What OS are you using? Mac & Linux may require some additional tricks to get the auto-reset working.

User avatar
uberhund
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Arduino Ethernet persistent sync error

Post by uberhund »

adafruit_support wrote:The board does serial communication via the same FTDI cable?
Yes, successful serial communication is over the same cable that invokes the sync error.
adafruit_support wrote:You might try pressing the reset button at about the time the upload starts (may take a few tries to hit the timing right).
Wow. This eventually worked. I'm getting an upload every three attempts or so, on average. Anyone know if later versions of the Arduino Ethernet will behave less petulantly? These sketches take so long to compile, that three or more upload failures per debugging/testing cycle extends the development time into something approaching impractical.
adafruit_support wrote:What OS are you using?
Windows7 (32- and 64- bit, depending where I physically happen to be).

Anyway, many thanks for getting me moving forward again with this work around.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”