Reading Arduino A's output pin with Arduino B's input pin

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pmw

Reading Arduino A's output pin with Arduino B's input pin

Post by pmw »

Hello. I am very new to electronics and hardware. My background is in computer science and software engineering. I am getting my feet wet with Arduino boards.

I've successfully created a 4-bit binary counter (with four LEDs and two pushbuttons) with the Arduino inventor's kit. For wiring the pushbutton, I followed the CIRC-07 card that came with the kit. It uses a 10K resistor as a pull-up resistor. It works great. Call this my Unit Under Test (UUT). I want to verify the UUT's functionality using a separate Arduino board. Call this other board the tester. I am using the tester with LabVIEW through the LIFA (LabVIEW Interface for Arduino). LIFA+LabVIEW work well: I am able to read digital pins in real time.

The problem is that I am not able to connect my UUT's output pins to the tester's input pins. When I do, I get floating behavior. The value read quickly (many times a second) alternates between 0 and 1.

To help diagnose the problem, I used a voltmeter to make sure the problem isn't code/LIFA-related. With the voltmeter, when I measure the voltage between the UUT's LED output pin and UUT's ground, it is what I expect: when the LED is lit, I read 5V, and when it's off I read 0V. When I, however, switch from the UUT's ground to the tester's ground, I read 0V no matter whether the LED is lit or not.

I am sure I am making some newbie mistake. Any suggestions for me? Thank you.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Reading Arduino A's output pin with Arduino B's input pin

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

When I, however, switch from the UUT's ground to the tester's ground, I read 0V no matter whether the LED is lit or not.