My leds stay on?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
schumi2004

My leds stay on?

Post by schumi2004 »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this but with the available tutorials i got my Arduino UNO R3 up and running with 50 leds.(WS2801)
I't's connected to my HTPC running XBMC with Boblight and all works as expected except for one thing.
When i pause a movie or serie the leds stay on and won't go off until i actually stop the movie.

Is there a way to modify LEDstream.pde in such a way it will turn of the leds after a periode of time?

I found someting in pde file that should do this but it doesn't seem to work

Code: Select all

// If no serial data is received for a while, the LEDs are shut off
// automatically.  This avoids the annoying "stuck pixel" look when
// quitting LED display programs on the host computer.
static const unsigned long serialTimeout = 15000; // 15 seconds
I don't have a clue on how to modify code so it will turn off when there is no change in picture.

Any ideas?

adafruit_support_rick

Re: My leds stay on?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

LEDStream.pde really has no way of knowing that the picture hasn't changed.

The timeout you found will turn the lights off if the arduino stops receiving data from the host computer. If you want the lights to turn off when the picture is paused, then the place to do that is in the host computer. I assume you would have to somehow modify Boblight.

schumi2004

Post by schumi2004 »

Someone hinted to make use of MODE_HOLD

Make buffer etc

case MODE_HOLD: 
  If (OldBuffer == Buffer) 
  { 
       Oldbuffer = buffer; 
       if(timeout(t, nLEDs) == true)  
       {  
           return; 
       } 
  } 
  else 
  { 
    Oldbuffer = buffer; 
  }
But i couldn't get it added to my ledstream, there was already a case MODE_HOLD and didn't knew how to add it.