What board/kit to purchase?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
dogboybz

What board/kit to purchase?

Post by dogboybz »

Hi all,

I would like to enter the exciting world of Arduino development. Sadly I'm a noob. I have no idea which board to purchase. Initially it seemed like the "Budget Pack for Arduino (Arduino Uno R3)" was exactly what I needed, but after looking the through the site I saw the "Arduino Mega Android Accessory Development Kit (ADK) Board". My ultimate goal is to create a cellphone bot, specifically something that flies, but I'm interested in many other projects as well. If I purchase one board over the another will I pigeon hole myself into a certain type of development/experimentation? I'm completely new to the world of electronics and microcontrollers. Which board/kit would be best for me to start with? Any help would be much appreciated. :)

dogboy

adafruit_support_rick

Re: What board/kit to purchase?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

If you're just starting, you really should go with the UNO R3. Just about everything - code and peripheral hardware - is designed to work with the UNO. Other boards, like there MEGA ADK, have differences which may require code changes and/or wiring changes. A big segment of the support questions here involve people trying to get things to work on a MEGA, or a Leonardo, or on some other arduino variant.

Once you're up-to-speed, you shouldn't have any trouble at all switching to a MEGA.

dogboybz

Post by dogboybz »

Thank for the info. Will I be able to connect the UNO R3 to my Droid and play with different features? I'm very interested in learning how to combine the cellphone functionality with the board.

adafruit_support_rick