Noob Project 2: Bicycle Lighting (advice?)

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
gaijinpunch

Noob Project 2: Bicycle Lighting (advice?)

Post by gaijinpunch »

Hi

I purchased the LED Belt Kit, and made short work of it with my ninja-like soldering skills. Actually, I suck, but I have some experience with that.

For my next project, I would like to put a light strip or two on my bicycle. I'm foreseeing a few caveats though that perhaps you guys here can shed light on.

1: Theft
This is actually not the biggest threat. I live in Japan, and vandalism and petty theft are somewhat rare. I've had 3 monkey lights on my bike for a couple of years now, and nobody has ever tried to touch them (knock on wood). However, I am thinking I will need some type of bond that would be very hard to "just rip off". I realize slicing the casing and pulling out the LED is always an option for a thief, but is clearly much more work and hopefully not worth it for him. But, if there are ways to make that difficult as well, I'm all ears!

2: Water
The LPD8806 are waterproof from what I understand. I assume this is b/c of the casing. What about the battery pack and whatnot? Preferably I would not need a crystal ball nor pay much attention to the weather forecast. There is plenty of rain here, and while I keep my bike covered at home, I ride in the rain.

3: Board
I thought the Atmega32u4 breakout board was fine. It's nice and small, has USB... easy soldering. Any reason I should go w/ the Arduino Uno R3 over it? I know most people are recommending those for noobs. I am a C/C++ programmer, but have little time to mess around with actual code writing. I would like something with a library of presets if possible, that I can just compile and program. Maybe one day I would write something.