Interesting A-level project

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
fin3rz

Interesting A-level project

Post by fin3rz »

Hi guys,

I am completely new to Arduinos, in fact I received my kit earlier today! Although I'm not asking for help at the moment (might need some later!), I would like your opinions on what I'm planning.

To summarize the electronic side of the brief, I need a make a contraption that will shake an aerosol can for 2 mins, this 2 mins also needs to be able to be adjusted.

The plan is to copy the internal workings of a printer, ie a motor attached to a belt that will drive a movable clamp along a bearing. I am also probably going to have a safety guard that will automatically lower down, hooked up to a microswitch to check. These two motors will be controlled using the adafruit motor shield. I will also have a LCD 16x2 display just to be cool!

The problem at the moment is deciding how to time the adjustable 2 mins. At the moment the 'while' function seems good but the 'for' function is a possibility too, but I am unsure as to how it can be adjusted. Can anyone help?

Thanks for your time, I'll keep you all posted on how I get on.

Fin

HooctAwnFonix

Re: Interesting A-level project

Post by HooctAwnFonix »

A for loop is just a special case while loop.

Look at this:

Code: Select all

int i=0;
while(i<12) {
   Serial.println(i);
   i++
}
This is exactly the same as:

for ( int i=0; i<12; i++){
   Serial.println(i);
}
The thing about using one of those loops is that you won't be able to tend to other things while you are waiting for 2 minutes. Might not be a problem for your application, but I just wanted to call your attention to that.