arduino PID / heating pad schematic help

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ezeeetm

arduino PID / heating pad schematic help

Post by ezeeetm »

I am an electronics/arduino newb so please bear with me.

I need to use the arduino PID library to control the output one of these 5V heating pads

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11288

Can somebody suggest a simple schematic to accomplish this? I'm *pretty* sure I cannot drive the heating pad directly off the arduino, even though it has 5V pins...because it draws to much current. Please correct me if I'm wrong? Like I said, I'm new and the heating pad doesn't have a datasheet :(

Do I use a tiny relay or SSR? If so, what model and how would I wire it up? I would be driving this with 4 rechargeable AA batteries (~4.8V)

thanks.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: arduino PID / heating pad schematic help

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Like I said, I'm new and the heating pad doesn't have a datasheet
Even experts are lost without data. You should contact Sparkfun. They should be able to help you with the technical specs of the product.

ezeeetm

Post by ezeeetm »

adafruit_support wrote:
Like I said, I'm new and the heating pad doesn't have a datasheet
Even experts are lost without data. You should contact Sparkfun. They should be able to help you with the technical specs of the product.
Just contacted them, they gave me the specs but the guy I talked to couldn't help me with the circuit advice.

he said draws .6 amps at 5V

All of my other components are adafruit (I'm only ordering this from them because you guys don't carry it)

Oh, I forgot to mention that I have a bunch of adafruit TMP36 thermistors laying around too...I was going to use those for the sensors.

adafruit_support_bill