FLORA accelerometer and Arduino UNO
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

FLORA accelerometer and Arduino UNO

by sekjal on Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:27 am

I'm new with Arduino hardware, and I've recently acquired an array of equipment to help me learn. One of the products in my kit is a FLORA accelerometer/compass, which I'm hoping to connect to an Arduino UNO. The accelerometer has SDA and SCL ports, which line up with FLORA's SDA and SCL. According to the FLORA pinout diagram http://learn.adafruit.com/getting-started-with-flora/flora-pinout-diagram, SDA and SCL map to Arduino pins 2 and 3 respectively.

Can I simply connect the FLORA accelerometer SDA and SCL to the Arduino UNO's pins 2 and 3, and make use of the Adafruit LSM303 library https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_LSM303 as is, or do I need to make some modifications to the software to account for the slight difference? If so, would that change be in the library itself, Wire.h or the Arduino IDE?

I suppose it would also be a good idea to ask, am I putting the FLORA accelerometer at any risk by experimenting? I don't plan to make any connection to the 5V output, but other than that, could a thoughtless circuit damage anything?
sekjal

Re: FLORA accelerometer and Arduino UNO

by adafruit_support_rick on Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:49 am

Actually, on the UNO, SDA is A4 and SCL is A5.

If you have a Rev 3 UNO, these are also brought out to the last two header pins nearest the reset button. They are labeled on the underside of the board.

You can use the LSM303 library as-is!
adafruit_support_rick

by sekjal on Sun Feb 10, 2013 3:49 pm

Thanks, driverblock! That's not only incredibly helpful, but very encouraging!
sekjal

by deivkk on Thu May 02, 2013 1:41 pm

Hello!

I have an Arduino UNO Rev 3 and I was wondering if it is possible to connect two different Flora accelerometers and distinguish between the two read signals.

Thanks!
deivkk

by adafruit_support_rick on Thu May 02, 2013 3:33 pm