BL-Q56X-43

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pgriffy

BL-Q56X-43

Post by pgriffy »

I bought the 7 segment 4 digit without the backpack. I didn't think it too big a deal since there are always great tutorials on everything I've bought so far I figured there would be one for this. No such luck. The only way I even got it to do anything was to copy the wiring in the picture and everything lit up. unplugging something turned off that segment. But that isn't very interesting. After two days of trying to figure this out, can anybody tell me if I even have this wired up right that it COULD work? I'm trying to use two 74hc595's (one for the segments and one for the digit). I'm a total noob at this, so I'm really just taking a stab at stuff on the internet trying to find something that works.

All I wanted to do was make it work like a clock.
Attachments
fritzing screen shot
fritzing screen shot
7segment4digit.PNG (233.83 KiB) Viewed 619 times

adafruit_support_mike

Re: BL-Q56X-43

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

You have the right general idea, but I'm not sure about the connections.

The display's datasheet (http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/BL-Q120A-41.pdf) shows how the pins are connected to the segments and power lines. Pins 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 are the multiplexed supplies.. they control the digit that's lit (with pin 1 controlling the dots between the digits). The remaining pins control the specific segments. The arrangement of pins and segments isn't obvious, so the datasheet will help you out.

pgriffy

Post by pgriffy »

is the 120 the same as the 56? I'm using a bl-q56x-43
it's datasheet is here:
http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/BL-Q56C-43.pdf

adafruit_support_mike

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

You have the right datasheet.. the one I linked does have different pin connections.