wireless/remote LCD or LED display

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
levon

wireless/remote LCD or LED display

Post by levon »

Hello all,

Total newbie here, hoping for some help with parts to get.

I'd like to implement my own version of something like this:

http://blog.makezine.com/2011/06/12/iss ... -overhead/

However, I would like to be able to do the display part wirelessly. I.e., somehow I'd like to have a set of LEDs (or LCD?) that I can control remotely. So my PC would run, and send the relevant information/control signals to periodically turn on/off LEDs/LCD. The distance is only a few meters, and the data will not be highspeed and update infrequently (but the display needs to stay on, though could put other things in standby/sleep mode if possible). Oh, and I'd want the display to be powered via battery (or possibly AC, so no long USB cable) .. would this eat through batteries quickly? I could probably do with a set of 4 or 5 LEDs.

I'm thinking of getting a Arduino starter kit (either this http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoStarterKit or http://www.makershed.com/Ultimate_Ardui ... msump1.htm or http://www.adafruit.com/products/170 -- is one better than the other?). To do the wireless part I think I should get two Xbees (series 1) .. does that sound right? Do I need to get some other small boards to setup the Xbees? From some videos I've seen it seems I may have to?

Goal for wireless, cheap and easy :)

Can I do this with one UNO? Do I need anything else? Any specific information would be really helpful since I'm new to this.

Thanks for any guidance.

adafruit_support_rick

Re: wireless/remote LCD or LED display

Post by adafruit_support_rick »