RS232 Communications

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
axs527

RS232 Communications

Post by axs527 »

Hey Everyone,

I am a biologist and have basic understanding of microcontrollers and have worked with Arduino for sometime. I have a centrifugation device that I can control through hyperterminal RS232 via my PC. What I want to do is to build an Arduino setup that can bypass its routine, sense the safety(s), key strokes and execute a separate routine.

I have the RS232 shield ordered http://www.cutedigi.com/arduino-shields ... duino.html

The centrifuge communicates at the following settings in Hyperterminal:
Baud 9600,
Data bits: 8,
Parity: N,
Stop Bits: 1
Flow Control : Xon/Xoff

As for the homework, plugging in an RS232 cable itself puts the centrifuge in diagnostics mode which by passes its routine. I have the list of commands from the mfg that can control the safety(s), centrifuge rpm etc, through Hyperterminal.

1st: Is this possible?
2nd: Would I be reinventing the wheel?
3rd: If it can be done, can someone without expertise in digital electronics handle this?

I appreciate the help and understand that this tech is not latest (to say the least) but thats the reason I need to bypass the routine of this centrifuge.
Cheers!

Ray

adafruit_support_mike

Re: RS232 Communications

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

axs527 wrote:1st: Is this possible?
It certainly should be. From your description, it sounds like a "making the Arduino speak the right language" problem.
axs527 wrote:2nd: Would I be reinventing the wheel?
If you can find another Arduino-based RS-232 controller for your specific centrifuge online, yes. I doubt that's the case, though.