Turntable Product Purchasing Advice

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Pyriphlegethon

Turntable Product Purchasing Advice

Post by Pyriphlegethon »

Please direct if this is not the appropriate place for this query.

Greetings!

I'm a fledgling Arduino hobbyist looking to build a simple turntable. I've got the concept working with some relatively simple code and a tiny servo motor. Motor turns, camera triggers, repeats. Now it's time to implement the idea on a real scale.

I have the lazy susan bearings for the turntable but have yet to construct the actual table. It seems like ideally a motor would sit in the base, below the table, with a direct physical connection of its shaft to the underside of the turntable so that I can directly set the rotation of the table by commanding the servo to turn in degrees. Or if this is impractical for any reason I could do some sort of belt driven system with a DC or stepper motor as well--I won't necessarily need the ability to send the motor to specific positions like a servo does. I see more people adopting the belt method though the direct drive seems a more intuitive application so I'm likely missing something there.

I'd be putting products up to 10 lbs in weight on the table and the table itself may add another pound, so I would need a motor capable of rotating that kind of payload maybe 5 degrees at a time. Speed isn't critical. Would you recommend getting the motor shield for the Arduino for that type of application? I know that, while the 5V USB power gets my mini servo going now, a 'real' motor capable of turning the table will require external power. I have some 12-volt Chinese Li-Ions that have worked well in the past. For this simple an application am I better of with an H-bridge and simple brushed DC motors maybe?