Arduino Uno and Movie files?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
BMur

Arduino Uno and Movie files?

Post by BMur »

Hello all you Arduino wizards,
I have a problem; I have an Arduino Uno that I'm going to install in my 54" model boat (a Chris Craft Cruiser). At the moment I'm just testing out what I want to do with it, but I am really new to micro controllers. I can program though.

Here's my problem, I've got a small model of a 1951 Motorola combination Stereo Radio Tuner, Record Player and TV that sits in the Main Salon. The TV screen measures about an inch (1") diagonally. I've downloaded a bunch of vintage TV shows from the '50s in Windows movie file format (apparently I can't use the word "A"-"V"-"I" on this forum, but that's what I have). What hardware do I need to get and how do I hook it up to the Uno to play those files using the Arduino? I thought I'd be able to load a few onto a micro SD card, then "play" the Movies, much like an MP3 file. I have read the specs on the LCDs and tiny Displays that AdaFruit sells, but none suggest that they can display movies. I wondered about how to "fudge" one of the tiny TVs into playing the Movie file instead of a television hookup, but I don't know if that's possible, let alone how to accomplish it.

Any help on this would be appreciated, Thanks, Barry.

Franklin97355

Re: Arduino Uno and Movie files?

Post by Franklin97355 »

I've seen a old video camera eyepiece used as a small tv screen in a model dollhouse but I don't think there is enough computing power in an Arduino to provide full motion video. You might try a Raspberry pi for this.

BMur

Post by BMur »