Flashing Pixel on 8x8 NeoPixel Matrix

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jacoberrol

Flashing Pixel on 8x8 NeoPixel Matrix

Post by jacoberrol »

I'm new to Arduino and in my first project I am programming some animations on an 8x8 NeoPixel matrix with an Uno. I need it to be portable, so I'm using a 12V DC power supply (8 AA batteries) going through a Buck converter to supply 5V DC to the NeoPixel Matrix. Everything works great in this configuration.

I wanted to save on batteries while I work on the project, so I decided to use a 5V AC/DC power supply in place of the batteries+buck converter. When I connected that directly to the matrix, the pixels were REALLY bright and they started acting kinda random. I disconnected the AC/DC power supply and went back to my batteries.

Now, my matrix is working as it did before, except for one pixel that blinks green intermittently. All other pixels work fine except this one. If I run a simple program...

void loop() {
matrix.show();
delay(1000);
}

I will see green for 3 seconds and then off for 2 seconds.

My questions:
1. Is it possible that I damaged the matrix with AC/DC power supply? If so, is intermittently blinking color a typical failure mode?
2. I tested the output of the power supply before connecting and it measured 5V... Why would it have made the matrix so much brighter? And why would it have damaged the matrix?

Thanks!

Jake

adafruit_support_rick

Re: Flashing Pixel on 8x8 NeoPixel Matrix

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Are you sure you didn't connect 5V AC to the matrix? It certainly sounds like you burned out one pixel. Maybe it acted as a fuse and protected the rest of the pixels.

jacoberrol

Post by jacoberrol »