Writing NFC Payload to a Datafile

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
paularcoleo

Writing NFC Payload to a Datafile

Post by paularcoleo »

Hi all, I'm semi-new to Arduino projects. I'm using the Adafruit NFC shield as well as the Seeed Studios SD card shield.

I've formatted a MiFare Classic 1K with a NDEF message of 10 characters, and I'm trying to write a sketch that reads the contents of the payload and writes it to a text file on the SD card. I've already familiarized myself well in the ways of writing and reading to an SD card, but I'm having trouble getting the payload from the NFC card to write to the SD card.

To the best of my understanding (I'm a Mechanical Engineer by education) from looking at the Adafruit Library, the function PrintHexChar (PHC) is what prints the payload in plain text to the Serial port.

PrintHexChar Function:

Code: Select all

void Adafruit_NFCShield_I2C::PrintHexChar(const byte * data, const uint32_t numBytes)
{
  uint32_t szPos;
  for (szPos=0; szPos < numBytes; szPos++) 
  {
    // Append leading 0 for small values
    if (data[szPos] <= 0xF)
      Serial.print("0");
    Serial.print(data[szPos], HEX);
    if ((numBytes > 1) && (szPos != numBytes - 1))
    {
      Serial.print(" ");
    }
  }
  Serial.print("  ");
  {
    if (data[szPos] <= 0x1F)
      Serial.print(".");
    else
      Serial.print((char)data[szPos]);
  }
  Serial.println("");
}
Translating the 2nd for loop to my best abilities, the loop runs until the end of the block, printing a "." if the hex value is 1F and otherwise printing the ASCII (char) conversion of the hex data at the current byte. Based on this translation I attempted to modify the code in a couple of ways in order to try and get what I wanted, but so far none have worked.

Attempt 1: Change the Function Type